U. S. school lunch programs are being canceled

Standard

I’m a public school teacher in Puerto Rico and while I’m eating my free lunch in the school cafeteria I start thinking about a news report I saw yesterday on CNN. A school district in Cleveland has shortened the school day and students leave at 1:15 and have also canceled their lunch program due ti budget cuts. Those students that were part of the free lunch program will go home with a bologna sandwich.

I can understand doing some budget cuts. What I can’t understand is why they would take away their lunch? Some kids really depend on their school lunch programs. A good nutritional diet is essential for growing kids.

Here is a link to the article: Money problems force school district to shrink school days and eliminate lunch

Leave a Reply

